Adult Fiction · Comics · Sci-Fi

Epic Reads Book Tag

Hi everyone, it’s time for another thrilling book tag! It’s the Epic Reads tag, which I found on Maxxesbooktopia. I didn’t see any rules, so it’s just a quick set of questions and answers, most of which turned out to be very thought-provoking and/or difficult to pin down.

epic-reads-tag1

1) If you could invite one author and one of their fictional characters to tea, who would you invite and what would you serve them?

Neil Gaiman and Dream from the Sandman series. I had no idea at first, it’s actually really hard to pick an author and character at the same time rather than just an author or two characters, but as soon as I scrolled past this on Goodreads I knew it would be them. Just think of the conversation!

I feel like I should serve them tea for tea, but I’m sure it wouldn’t be up to their standards.

2) What book would you like a prequel for?

Oddly, I’d love a prequel to the Lando comic by Charles Soule. It’s already a prequel to the first Star Wars trilogy, but there are these two characters in it — the Twins — who I absolutely adored and I want to go back and see their story. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any plans to release such a thing in the foreseeable future.

3) Which two characters (not from the same book) do you think would make a good couple?

Come on, y’all… I barely ship couples in books at all, let alone non-canon couples, let alone from different books. I think I have like one non-canon ship and it’s Tony Stark/Bruce Wayne, but I do take that one VERY SERIOUSLY. I guess they’re technically comic characters from different comics, so there you go.

Photo manip of Stark and Wayne kissing
UnexpectedHero on DeviantArt

4)  If you ran into your favourite author on the train and could only say one sentence to them, who would it be and what would you say?

I’ve got a lot of favorite authors, but for all of them it would be some variation of “Thank you, you’ve meant a lot to me.”

5)  What book made you a reader and why?

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons by Engelmann, Haddox and Bruner. I still remember some of the pictures and things, although I had to ask my mom for the title.

6) Your book shelf just caught on fire! What book would you save and why?

Well, I’ve got a lot of books that were hard to track down for a reasonable price, but I don’t own any that are completely irreplaceable, so it would either be a signed book or a gift — Men Like That: A Southern Queer History by John Howard is my most meaningful signed book, and then I have a copy of English Literature in the Sixteenth Century by C.S. Lewis. It’s hard to find, and my mom gave it to me for my birthday last year. So probably both of those.

Dr. Zaius from Planet of the Apes
Dr. Zaius

7) What dystopian world would you want to live in if you had to choose one and why?

Planet of the Apes, as long as I get to be an orangutan. I like orangutans.

8)  What is your most epic read of all time?

Battlefield Earth by L. Ron Hubbard. I haven’t read it since I was a kid, but it was one of my absolute favorite books and I read it over and over. I remember almost nothing about it now, but it’s a 1000-page sci-fi extravaganza and definitely deserves to be called an epic. (Yes, I was reading some odd books when I was 12).


Leave your answers in the comments, or consider yourself tagged!

4 thoughts on “Epic Reads Book Tag

Chit-chat

