Adult Fiction · Comics · Queer · Updates

February #readmyowndamnbooks Update

Hi everyone, it’s time for my first #readmyowndamnbooks challenge update! This is a super chill thing about reading books you already own. I have a goal of five books a month, mainly focused on physical books because those are the ones I want to clear out. I’ll be counting ebooks too, but listed separately, since my backlog there is negligible compared to the paper books and ebooks aren’t taking up any space. I’ll include either brief thoughts or a link to a review. This month’s update will include the four books I read in January, so my running tally will be for the whole year!

Physical Books

  • What Would Captain Kirk Do? by Brandon T. Snider – read for this Comparative Geeks post on Star Trek self-help books.
  • The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 1: Squirrel Power by Ryan North – This was a present from my brother a while back, and I finally read it and loved it. Super cute, witty, and Doreen’s face is the best ever.
  • Loserpalooza: A Get Fuzzy Treasury by Darby Conley – A reread. Love some Get Fuzzy to laugh and relax.
  • Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes – A classic with disability and sci-fi themes, reviewed here.

Ebooks

  • Love is Love by IDW Publishing – An LGBT+ comic anthology, reviewed here.
  • Ant-Man, Vol. 1: Second-Chance Man by Nick Spencer – Good comic, especially if you’re coming to Ant-Man from the movie (discussed here and here).
  • Brute by Kim Fielding – m/m fantasy romance, reviewed here.
  • Bodies of Evidence: The Practice of Queer Oral History edited by Nan Alamilla Boyd and Horatio N. Roque Ramirez – I’m not sure what to say about this one because I couldn’t really figure out who the audience was supposed to be. It’s sort of for oral history practitioners, but also has a lot of very specific queer history content.

Total: 4 paper books, 4 ebooks

Given that this is for two months, I’m not super impressed with myself, but hey. It’s a start!

Chit-chat

