Other Stuff

This or That Book Tag

So, I’d planned to do a Weekend Coffee Share post today, buuuut… nothing interesting has happened in the past two weeks. Instead, I’m inviting myself to do the This or That book tag, which I found on A Book. A Thought. last week!


thisorthat
Tea & Paperbacks

Rules

  • Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you
  • Choose one of the options, you don’t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.
  • Tag other people to do this tag to spread the love!

Reading on the couch or on the bed?

On the bed. I pretty much live on my bed actually.

boo

Male main character or female main character?

Genderqueer main character! That said I do make an effort to find female main characters because my reading is unbalanced toward male characters and I’m not sure why. I think it might be a genre issue, or at least it’s interesting to note that the protagonist’s gender makes more of a difference in some genres than others.

Sweet snacks or salty snacks?

Sweet. You would be terrified by my sweet tooth. I most enjoy matching beverages to books though — wine for a romance, tea for a classic, beer or chocolate milk for a comic, that kind of thing.

Trilogies or quartets?

Duologies! That way if you really like the first book you get a follow-up, but you don’t have to slog through increasingly-less-good books to get to the end.

First person POV or third person POV?

I typically prefer a close third. I like a LOT of information about a character’s motivations, but first person can get repetitive and if they’re doing stupid things, hearing it in first person makes the character a lot less sympathetic to me.

rdj-eyeroll

Reading at night or in the morning?

All things being equal, I like to watch movies in the morning and read at night. I find it hard to get really involved in a movie after I’ve already been through my day and have stuff on my mind, but I can ease into a book at my own pace. Plus I just like the feeling of curling up in bed with a chunky book, knowing I won’t be bothered until the next morning.

Libraries or bookstores?

Libraries! Because free! Because glorious lighthouses of public knowledge! I readily admit that browsing a bookstore has its own particular pleasures though, especially if you have money to spend.

Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?

Cry, although I suppose genuine laughter is almost as rare. I find plenty of books amusing, but very few funny enough to make me laugh out loud. The crying books stay with me a lot longer, though.

Black book covers or white book covers?

Black covers can be very striking, but they seem more common. A white cover really makes a statement and looks very “now” to me.

white-space-cover

Character driven or plot driven?

I prefer an indistinguishable combination. Plot should happen naturally because of the characters, not happen TO them.


Feel free to invite yourself to do the tag, book-blog or otherwise!

4 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag

  1. Reading on the couch or on the bed? Neither – I prefer to either sit on a chair, or use the elliptical to exercise while I’m reading. Depends on how physically busy my day’s been otherwise.

    Male main character or female main character? I tend to read about more female main characters. I’m not really sure why.

    Sweet snacks or salty snacks? Fully agreed – sweet snacks all the way.

    Trilogies or quartets? I don’t really care that much. Most of the books I read tend to either be from a longer series than just 3 or 4, or they’re one-off books.

    First person POV or third person POV? I’m fine with either when I’m reading. They both have advantages and disadvantages. When I’m writing though, I usually try to stick to third person.

    Reading at night or in the morning? I read whenever I have the time or energy. That can mean the morning, afternoon, evening or even well after midnight on some days. When you work shift work, you need to get used to varying hours.

    Libraries or bookstores? Book stores. If I like an author, I like to directly contribute to them financially. Book stores might not be direct, but it’s often as close as I can get without ridiculous shipping prices, living in Canada.

    Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry? In my opinion, the best books are the ones that can make you do both.

    Black book covers or white book covers? I prefer something a bit more interesting than just black or white.

    Character driven or plot driven? I like stories about characters, but you can still have a plot driving story that’s still about characters. Basically, as long as there’s good characterization somewhere, I’m fine either way.

    Like

  2. I prefer to live in my bed too! I pretty much only exit for work and occasional exercise. LOL. I agree with the white covers seeming very “now,” too. I think they can be quite striking.

    Like

Chit-chat

