Queer · TV & Movies · Updates

Sunday Post – #queerpop and other updates

Good morning! Updates on stuff today!

Thank you all very much for giving #queerpop a warm welcome last Tuesday! I’ve given the project a mention on my About page and a page of its own, to be expanded as I incorporate regular features within the column and things like that. We’ll have another discussion post this week, should be good! Plus people are sending me their own queer pop culture posts, like this one and this one and this one, and that’s pretty much the best thing ever. Keep it up!

#queerpop (4)

We talked about “gettingThe Breakfast Club last week. I am indeed appreciating it more as time goes on, BUT. This week I saw Footloose for the first time and it was awesome!!! I didn’t go to high school, I was homeschooled, and I figured that was a big part of not getting Breakfast Club, more so than the generational difference. I could understand what was happening, but not relate to it directly. The cliques and cultural expectations in a religious homeschool group are just very different. So it’s no surprise at all that Footloose had a much bigger impact for me, and I was also really impressed by the nuances of the script — I’d expected something a lot more stylized and simplistic. It was just really good all around. 😀 What other classic movies should I see?

We're just like Kevin Bacon!
We’re just like Kevin Bacon!

I got my GRE scores back. I got the half-point I needed, so grad-school applications are underway! I need some further info before I can send additional materials, and this being a holiday weekend I don’t expect to hear back until the middle of the week, so there’s still a week or two of application stuff before I can even start waiting for a verdict, but I’m very hopeful and I’ve started making pre-grad-school arrangements. I ordered a new laptop and tablet, so that leaves some car stuff, new glasses, a dentist appointment, and hunting for jobs and apartments and stuff-for-the-apartment as August gets closer. I don’t really like making Arrangements, but under the circumstances I’m thrilled!

What are you up to this week?

8 thoughts on “Sunday Post – #queerpop and other updates

  1. Hmm.. another classic to watch… I should give that some thought.
    And now I have the idea of a movie-watching group. Yeah, I seem to be in project-creating-mode!~
    Yay yay yay on the GRE scores and pre-grad-prep! So exciting! There’s a huge part of me that is wishing I were going back to school in the fall. Then I look at the reality of my time, where I am, and how I am poised for moving into the future and realize that’s NOT what I need to be doing (as much as I might wanna). So, I shall live through all those I know who are going to school 🙂

    Like

    1. That would be fun! Impractical for me, though. My movie-watching goes in spurts because I don’t always have comfortable access to movie paraphernalia etc.

      The posts will come, you’re welcome to use them for vicarious purposes. 😉 Trying to get everything in order to go is a major undertaking, let alone actually going. You’re set up on a trajectory and going back to school would be a total distraction. #peptalk

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I want that Star-Lord/Rocket Raccoon stand. Also, good luck with getting into Grad School, and it’s good to hear that it’s going well so far.

    I’m in the middle of the second draft for book 3 in my series. I’m getting toward the end, but this part is taking longer than the first part. There are a lot of flaws in this part of the first draft. The pacing is terrible and while editing it, I’ve also found a number of continuity errors. So far the second draft seems to be a lot better.

    Like

  3. It wasn’t too long ago that I saw “Footloose” for the first time, too. (Though I’ve been listening to its soundtrack since the early 90s…)

    I wonder how many more views the movie has gotten on Netflix since “Guardians of the Galaxy” came out? (That was certainly what reminded me that I’d always meant to find out what it was like!)

    Good luck with your graduate school applications!

    Like

Chit-chat

