Updates

Sunday Post – Caffeinated #Queerpop Edition

coffee2

If we were having coffee, I’d be pretty excited about it. πŸ˜€ I’m mostly limiting caffeinated coffee to writing sessions at the moment, but in virtual coffee time, I can be as hopped up as I want and it won’t hurt a thing later on!

Biggest excitement: #queerpop starts on Tuesday. It’s a weekly series about queer issues and pop culture, and also a hashtag for general discussion on Twitter. I’ve tweeted a few links and such to the hashtag already, kind of a soft open. Much like this post, I suppose… The idea is to chit-chat, not any big organized thing. I’m pretty excited anyway though, I’ve got a long list of possible posts and guest posters, and I think it’ll be fun! I hemmed and hawed around for a while trying to think of a good post to start on, and then I decided to just jump in headfirst, so Tuesday’s post isn’t really an intro… It’s about Constantine. But I think it’ll touch on why representation matters at all, which is basically the underlying point of the whole series, so please do come back and chat Tuesday!

#queerpop (4)
Base logo thing for future elaborations.

If we were having coffee, I’d also want to talk aboutΒ The Breakfast Club,Β which I finally got around to watching this morning.Β If this is a significant movie to you, I’d love to hear why. I’m thinking maybe it was significant in context…? I can somewhat appreciate the extended-bottle-episode style and the things it’s saying about teenagers that are still true, but I don’t have any emotional connection to it. Maybe it’s just me. Or maybe it’s like Labyrinth,Β and I just need a while to think about it before I’ll realize how important it is.Β But I really would like to hear from everyone else, because I often appreciate a movie more when I know why other people liked it.

Got a lot of writing done yesterday — I’m wondering if it would work better to move most of my writing to the weekends. I do better with big chunks of time away from the house specifically dedicated to writing, and that works best on weekends, especially since I like my coffee while writing but don’t like the subsequent stress if I go from writing to work. But I’ve also demonstrated through wordsprints that half an hour of focus can also foment quite a lot of words for my count. We shall see.

What are you up to this weekend?

27 thoughts on “Sunday Post – Caffeinated #Queerpop Edition

  1. I’ve never seen The Breakfast Club, at least not the entire movie. For those of us who grew up in the northern suburbs of Chicago, it was significant because it was filmed at Maine North High School in Des Plaines. Hughes shot a lot of his movies on the North Shore; in “Uncle Buck,” for example, he picks up his niece at New Trier West High School in Northfield, where I went to school (class of ’74). “Home Alone” was filmed in Wilmette; the church Kevin goes to where he meets the creepy neighbor was where my grandfather went. Etc. Etc.

    Like

  2. I am very behind on blogs, and I am sorry! I am getting caught up right now, and working on two different anthology projects for my writers’ group… Looking forward to the #queerpop stuff. I’m sure you’ve got lots to say!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the coffee. Breakfast Club has to be seen at the right age to be appreciated completely, I think. I’m a fan of John Hughes’ movies (the ones from the 80s), even though I was a teen in the 90s. Looking forward to the #queerpop series.

    Like

  4. I liked the Breakfast Club, but I also am missing that emotional connection that you’re talking about. I have friends my age who also have that connection, though, so I’m not sure it’s entirely generational.

    Like

    1. Interesting. Could be partly generational, partly situational (I never went to high school), partly the age at which the movie is first seen, partly just personal taste in general…

      Like

  5. With The Breakfast Club you had to be there πŸ˜‰ Seriously, it wasn’t a great movie, but the people in it were exactly like the people I knew at the time, or I should say a few years earlier as I was a junior in college when it came out. But all of the people were just like the people I knew and the prejudices were exactly like they were in my very, very similar mid-west high school. Oh, there were some stupid things, like every guy I knew thought he was Judd nelson while the people who really were like that character were, well, they sometimes deserved the stereotype πŸ™‚ And I was the math nerd and nothing at all like Anthony Michael Hall – in fact I dated the socialite. not the metal head. Anyway, that’s why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, interesting, thank you. I was homeschooled and while I can identify with them as teenagers in general, the actual daily existence in a religious homeschool group has a whole different set of conventions and stereotypes and problems. So, I get it, but I don’t GET it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As I said, the real people didn’t fit the stereo types, but those stereotypes did exist and everyone knew them, even if we crossed the lines much more than was implied in the movie. But that’s why we liked it – it was about us.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. “It’s about us” is definitely a powerful thing, even if the media itself simplifies things or plays to stereotypes that aren’t quite accurate. Witness: my love, as a fangirl, for Jupiter Ascending.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Looking forward to #queerpop! And what a coincidence, I introduced my mom to Breakfast Club yesterday πŸ™‚ I love it mainly for the characters, but I understand what you mean by “significant in context.” I had the same experience with Princess Bride. I still don’t get it I think πŸ™‚ It’s probably just tastes.
    See you tomorrow in the Blood, Boobs and Carnage Blogfest?…

    Like

    1. Ha! I got to the point where I could no longer function in pop culture without seeing it. I’m very glad I did, eve if I don’t know what to make of it yet.

      I do love Princess Bride, but I’ve loved it since infancy, so there’s a whole different set of contexts there. πŸ™‚ That’s why I mentioned Labyrinth… I didn’t get it at all at first, but part of the reason people love it is just the fact that it’s shared and recognizable. It’s not just the movie itself, it’s the fact that it’s familiar and also familiar to other people. So, I expect the more I interact with Breakfast Club and others referencing it, the more I’ll appreciate it.

      I hope so. I’ve been considering since the announcement and I can’t come up with anything to blog about.

      Like

      1. I split it between two blogs. One is Boobs, and one is Blood and Carnage… πŸ˜€
        I agree with the context, I notice people have strong connections to childhood movies even if they are horrible when you see them as a grown-up. Especially if there is also a cultural barrier. I learned that when I tried to introduce American friends to Hungarian childhood movies… πŸ˜€

        Like

  7. I’m so excited about #queerpop!

    I loved The Breakfast Club. The characters were so much like people I knew, like people I wanted to know, too. But then everything was subverted: they spent so much time together, and we with them, that we saw the walls crumble down. And then, despite what they said in that essay, despite knowing that they were all changed a little bit, we all know the walls went back up. I saw it at a rather formative time in life, and that all seemed incredibly important.

    Like

    1. I can see it might mean a lot at a certain age. I think if I’d seen it when I was younger it would’ve just frustrated me, but hard to tell. I didn’t know people like that well enough to recognize them, and I wasn’t interested in the people I did know. I tend to disengage with a story at the point where I’d be done in real life. I would’ve seen more of the kids being squelched, rather than the glimpses of unsquelchedness, and trying to deal with all emotion no plot is a challenge for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, I see. I’ve always really liked character-driven stories even with thin plotting, and I think perhaps that makes a large difference, too.

        Like

        1. I do prefer character-driven stories, but I have trouble getting invested in something that’s just characters interacting with nothing else, which is what I think most not-genre works are. Not sure if it’s just that I prefer aliens so I get bored, or if it’s an autism thing and I’m literally not following what’s happening on the same level as others.

          Like

  8. Breakfast Club is a good movie, but not great. What makes it good is that there is no real plot, and the point of the movie is to explore the characters, and how they react to each other. Also, the dialogue and the acting is great. I think where it misses though is the obvious “on the nose” archetypes of the characters (mainly Nelson, Ringwald, Estevez). And giving Ally Sheedy the Sandy from Grease treatment was disappointing. However, where they went with the Michael Anthony Hall storyline was moving and surprising. Having said all that it’s a great watch, but bugs me at the same time. Thanks for the forum Hannah. Didn’t know I had that much to say about The Breakfast Club.

    Like

    1. My pleasure, those are good thoughts. To me the main success of the movie was conveying how significant teenage problems really are. How much of an impact they have.

      Like

Chit-chat

