Comics · Queer

A to Z: Victoria Hand

Spoilers for the character and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Saffron_Burrows_as_Victoria_HandVictoria Hand is a lesbian S.H.I.E.L.D. agent who appeared in the Dark Avengers and New Avengers titles from 2010 to 2012. I’ve only read a few issues, but near as I can tell, she was kind of an idiot. Or maybe just a jerk. She also spent a lot of time doing “is she a hero or not” double-agent spy stuff. She had a girlfriend in Dark Avengers, but they broke up in #11 because Victoria did something really stupid and self-absorbed (in my opinion). Victoria died at the end of 2012.

The character is really pretty minor, but she gained a bit more recognition due to her appearance in four Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. episodes. Romantic entanglements are never a plot point for her in those four, but she was played by bisexual actress Saffron Burrows. She died in season one before she got much of an arc at all, although she did get some awesome moments in her final episode! I don’t think her death was discrimination of any kind, it made sense for the story, but it is a shame we didn’t get to know that character better.

So… yeah. I don’t particularly like her, she got on my nerves on the show too before she started getting cool in that last appearance. But hey, straight people can be jerks, so can LGBT+ people. So can women, for that matter, but it’s more rare to see them do it in stories, so that much I appreciate! I recommend watching the show instead of trying to read the comics. The first half of season one is like pulling teeth sometimes, but just wait until you get to the good part, and then it’s REALLY GOOD.

6 thoughts on “A to Z: Victoria Hand

  1. Pulling ALL teeth, with medieval tools and no painkillers… 😛 I still can’t sneak up on this show although I have seen a couple of episodes that connected to Captain America. Meh. But you are right about the representation 🙂
    BTW, I put a link to your blog on my handouts for a workshop I taught yesterday about diversity and storytelling. People were super interested, so heads up, some storytellers might come poking around 😉
    Cheers!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

    Like

Chit-chat

