Comics · Queer

Review: “Loki: Agent of Asgard #6”

I do my Loki reviews in the form of live reactions as I go along, paying special attention to Loki’s possible genderfluidity/bisexuality/etc… And there will be a flurry of them this week as I’m trying to catch up. Skip to the Final Thoughts to avoid spoilers!

Loki Agent of Asgard 6 cover

At this point, Loki is no longer the “Agent of Asgard.” He’s now a free agent, so to speak. We’re starting a new arc with a sorta-clean slate… As clean as it gets, anyway. This issue is also marked “March to Axis.” I fully intend to read the Axis storyline, but only once it’s collected, so we’ll just have to muddle through as best we can (and hope I don’t get spoiled too badly, but if I do I’ll warn you.)

____

Loki Agent of Asgard 6 Von Doom

Victor Von Doom takes a little trip to the future, discovers it’s a barren wasteland and old-Loki is taking the credit, so Doom decides to kill Loki in the present. Logical.

____

Loki Agent of Asgard 6 Verity

Yaaaay, Verity!

(Yes, I expect I will do this every time Verity appears…)

____

I confess, I had my doubts about Von Doom’s homicidal resolution. However, so far he’s doing rather well. He’s always been a little bombastic, but he’s made logical inferences about the nature of magic in Loki’s series and he’s meeting a god on his own turf, using “conversation” as a weapon. Very interesting.

Loki Agent of Asgard 6

OH CRAP OH CRAP OH CRAP gotta read the next issue RIGHT NOW, I’m sorry I doubted you Doom, THIS IS LEGIT PERIL!

Final Thoughts:

Still no verdict on whether or not it’ll make sense without reading Axis, but it’s great so far! We have yet another fascinating twist on meta-story, and just when I was getting confident that Loki would effortlessly handle any plot against him, Von Doom decides to up the ante. Plus it looks like Verity will be an important player this time around, and I’ve been looking forward to that since her first appearance!

Chit-chat

