Queer · Romance

2015 Book Challenges (LGBT+ and Romance)

We can take it as a given that I’ll read as many books as I can during any given year. I don’t worry about whether the number is higher or lower — I’m confident that I read what I wanted, when I wanted.

However, I still love book challenges! They add a fun kind of “scavenger hunt” feel, and they can also introduce me to books I wouldn’t have read otherwise. Since I’ve just launched Project Reading Rainbow to clear out my personal library, these will help keep me moving around the collection and not getting burned out on any one thing. Last year I didn’t do any but summer reading challenges and I’m sure I’ll do those again this year, so I don’t want to go too overboard with yearlong ones, but I’ve picked two that look fun!

1) The LGBT Challenge, found at Brin’s Book Blog and hosted by Niji Feels

This is a simple challenge, to read a certain number of LGBT+-themed books in 2015, but it looks like it’s been a well-attended challenge in previous years. I’ve chosen the level “OMNIVOROUS BOOKGLUTTON: 10+ LGBT books from any genre,” and my actual goal is twelve — one per month. I’ve perused my shelves and pre-chosen a few:

  1. Love the Sin: Sexual Regulation and the Limits of Religious Tolerance by Janet R. Jakobsen and Ann Pellegrini (nonfiction)
  2. Wicked Gentlemen by Ginn Hale (fantasy)
  3. LGBTChallenge2015The Name of Love by Michael Lassell (poetry)
  4. Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan (YA)
  5. Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis (YA/sci-fi)
  6. Under the Poppy by Kathe Koja (historical fiction)
  7. She’s Not There: A Life in Two Genders by Jennifer Finney Boylan (memoir)
  8. Mordred, Bastard Son by Douglas Clegg (fantasy)
  9. Swish: My Quest to Become the Gayest Person Ever by Joel Derfner (memoir)
  10. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan (YA)
  11. The Dark Wife by Sarah Diemer (YA/fantasy)
  12. The Authority series by Warren Ellis (comics)

They’re in no particular order and the choices may change. I’ll be reviewing or mini-reviewing the LGBT Challenge books here, so I’m trying to pick some interesting stuff! 😉 We all know I was gonna read more than ten LGBT books this year anyway, but this just looks super fun and the ones I’ve listed are (mostly) books from my shelves that I wanted to read anyway.

2) The Romance Roundabout Challenge at Under the Covers 

This challenge will be more about finding new books and continuing to explore the romance genre(s) for me. The challenge is to read a certain number of books from each subgenre they list — I’ve chosen “The Dabbler,” a low minimum of one book from each, and there are twelve listed, so that works out nicely to one a month as well! This challenge actually runs through Goodreads, so I won’t review the books here unless I want to for some other reason, but I’ll probably note my progress in Sunday Summaries or Project Reading Rainbow posts.

Here are my choices:romance-roundabout-challenge

  1. Paranormal: The Selkie by Charles Sheffield
  2. Urban Fantasy: River Road by Suzanne Johnson
  3. Young Adult: Blues for Zoey by Robert Paul Weston
  4. New Adult: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
  5. Erotic: Beyond Shame by Kit Rocha
  6. Sci-Fi: The Last Hour of Gann by R. Lee Smith
  7. Historical: The Deception of the Emerald Ring by Lauren Willig
  8. Steampunk: The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook
  9. Contemporary: High Seduction by Vivian Arend
  10. Suspense: Black Ice by Anne Stuart
  11. LGBT: The Magpie Lord by K.J. Charles
  12. Fantasy: The Forest Lord by Susan Krinard

These may also flex a bit if I read something and realize it wasn’t actually in the right genre, or if I read some other book and realize it DOES count for one of these genres, but we’ll see! (And if you note one of the books above is miscategorized, please let me know NOW before I get halfway through them! Thanks!)

These challenges have low goal options available, especially the LGBT Challenge. Do iiiiit! 😉

6 thoughts on “2015 Book Challenges (LGBT+ and Romance)

  1. UNDER THE POPPY IS MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER AHMAGAWD IT’S SO GOOD SOOOO GOOOOD.

    Also, Two Boys Kissing will break your heart in all the right ways, and Wicked Gentlemen is quite good and amusing.

    But uugghhhh Under the Poppy….

    Like

    1. You are entirely the reason I am reading Under the Poppy. 😀

      All three are books I meant to read last year and never did. (Actually I’ve had Wicked Gentlemen for multiple years…)

      Like

Chit-chat

