Adult Fiction · Romance

Reblog: Fifty Shades of Censorship

I agree with Mrs. H — I thought Fifty Shades was basically an awfully-written book, and furthermore, I think the people who found it so sensational have never been on the internet. But that doesn’t mean it needs to be banned.

Mrs H: Books

Part of the Banned Books Week Blog Party over at Things Matter.

On May 25 2011 Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James was published.  For the years following this E.L. James has been on the ALA Top Ten Challenged Book Lists.  The reasons given for the challenges are “nudity, offensive language, religious viewpoint, sexually explicit, unsuited to age group.”

Personally, I’m not a fan of Fifty Shades. When they first started to get media interest I downloaded the first of the trilogy onto my kindle.  I’m really nosy and at the hint of a little bit of controversy about a book I tend to want to buy or download it straight away.  I wanted to know what was driving women who didn’t usually read to pick up this book.  I also hadn’t read any erotica before and wanted to know what all the fuss was about.  I’d…

View original post 438 more words

2 thoughts on “Reblog: Fifty Shades of Censorship

  1. So, since Saturday from 2 to 5 and 6 to 8 ET is prime Pinterest time, and Twitter is hot at the same time, and it’s STILL banned books week, I’m giving as many of these bloggers you’ve feature this week a Banned Books Social Saturday. By which I mean I’ll visit as many of them as I can, tweet links to their posts from the browser, and pin the ones that have images somewhere on their front pages like I did for that coffee linkup a few weeks ago 🙂 I’ll start with your blog party post, of course! Starting this in about an hour, taking a break at 4 pm, and then ending either when I’m done with them all, or when Doctor Who comes on.

    I’ll drop you a link to the pinterest board once I’m finished.

    Like

Chit-chat

