Adult Fiction · YA

Reblog: Banned Book Blog Party

Personal reminiscences about banned books from the wonderful Eclectic Alli. Later this week I’ll be talking about the only book I wasn’t allowed to read as a child, but in general my experience was the same — free reign in the library, read anything and everything, and I’ve always been grateful for that!

Eclectic Alli

 Banned Book week is here!

I dislike that such a thing needs to exist… but I welcome the chance to celebrate some of those books that I love, which have made their way to the Banned and Challenged books lists.  The freedom to read the books which call to you is important to me.  So I love the chance to participate in the Banned Book Blog Party, hosted by Hannah Givens.

No books have ever been “off-limits” to me.  I’ve spoken before about how one of our regular forms of entertainment was to go to the library.  Mom would let us run loose through the building, the only limitation on the books we checked out being, “will you really read them all before we come back?”  I would enter that place like someone stepping up to an oasis, thirsty to get as many books as I could.  And I would…

View original post 788 more words

Chit-chat

