History

Digital History: Intro and Blog Updates

One of the classes I’m taking right now is Digital History, a methods class combining how to use the internet for historical research (including a tour of cool history-related sites) and practice for how to present historical information digitally. One of our assignments is to blog through our textbook (Digital History by Daniel J. Cohen and Roy Rosenzweig, 2006 — a how-to manual), and blog about the historical websites we’re visiting. I have a separate blog set up to turn in this homework, but provided it’s interesting, I’ll also be posting it here. I’ll be linking to a lot of these websites and such on my (upcoming) History Resources page as well.

In fact, beyond assigned homework, I think I may blog through all my classes when interesting topics, themes, or resources emerge. Being a history (and political science) student is a big part of my life right now and it seems people are interested in college life and the things I’m studying. I think it will add value for y’all as far as cool information and topics, in addition to those who might be considering college or a history degree (or who are already pursuing one). Never fear, if I don’t think it’s interesting, I won’t post it, and other fandom-related and “things I think are interesting” posts will continue! (My blog philosophy also specifies that I don’t post things others can just copy and paste into their own homework, so there won’t be any full papers or things of that nature, but I may post excerpts or alter academic writing to be conversational and blog-appropriate).

I haven’t been actively doing Zero to Hero blog-improvement assignments, but I’ve been following along and taking some advice. You may have noticed I’m trying out a cool(?) new theme and experimenting with headers. I wanted a theme that would be less glaringly white and have more area for the actual posts, instead of giving the sidebar half of it. Other improvements and experiments are on the way, and I’ve tweaked my About page to better illustrate my vision for this blog.

As always, feedback is appreciated!

14 thoughts on “Digital History: Intro and Blog Updates

  1. With most themes, you can tone down the color in the Customize menu. Part Time Monster was glaringly when Diana first implemented the theme she is using now. The biggest problem I have with the free themes is that it’s hard to find one that has good fonts AND a lot of features. I’m struggling a bit to figure out what to do with my writing blog at the moment. Design is a huge time sink. I think this theme looks good. It’s easy to read and doesn’t distract from the text, which is what you want for the sort of blogging you seem to prefer.

    I’m very interested to hear about your History/PS journey. Having a PS degree hasn’t made a lot of difference in my income, but the two years I spent in that program changed my way of thinking for the better.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback!

      I’m enjoying the studies so far. History and PS marry well, history for the past and a bit of PS for the present. One of the surprising things is how the PS classes are functioning almost like theory classes for the historical ones, if that makes sense. For instance International Relations is about the mechanisms, ideologies, etc., of international relations, and that’s really helpful going into specific history classes about specific countries. Anyway, I’ve got a few posts in the queue to write already. 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes, it is a high-theory discipline, that is one of the reasons I loved it. I focused my studies on International Org. and Law the first year, then took a lot of civil liberties, constitutional law, and philosophy-oriented stuff the second. The two courses that did me the most good were the graduate Research Methods and the basic International Org course.

        Like

  2. I’m not very fond of the choice of themes either, though I think that the one you’re using is quite easy to read. A few times I wanted to change mine, but problem is that the specific header I have never suited another layout, or that I plainly didn’t like them.

    Sounds like you have a good plan with your class related blogging! 🙂

    Like

  3. My biggest issue with WordPress themes are the inordinate number of either glaringly white or black-on-white ones. This one was one of my alternate choices; I’m not crazy about the font. It feels smushed. But the one I have feels too small. So, of the available ones it’s probably the least annoying if you don’t care about a lot of images.

    Like

Chit-chat

